top of page

A sound that matters

“There is nothing to fear when you do the right thing.”

I believed in this quote ever since I was young; however, my belief started fading when I grow up. Being a good person does not mean being a person who always does the right thing. Sometimes the right thing makes you a bad person in others’ eyes.

When I first attended JM 310 Editorial and Article Writing course, I was assigned to do some tasks that help enhancing our environment and society. It was the wrongdoings report.

I was afraid. I repeated to myself every day that it is the most ridiculous assignment and it has nothing to do with me.

“How can I report the poor vendors? They are doing that because they have to feed their family, they do not have many opportunities,” I thought to myself. “And if I report them, will other people blame me?”

I was wrong.

In fact, every wrongdoing in society comes from people’s negligence. People see it, ignore it, and used to it.

I started my first report on the motorcycle driven against the lane case. I think this kind of wrongdoings is a virus. We see it every day, everywhere, and every time. But nobody cares. The virus then extends gradually everywhere.

It is also the cause of the road accident. According to the World Health Organisation, Thailand, there are estimably 66 deaths from road accident every day and 73% is among motorcyclists or 48 deaths per day.

[motorcycles are driven against the lane at Pradipat street, Phayathai, Bangkok]

I have been withstood with those bikers, who drive against the direction for a long time, and I did not complain or do anything until I was told to do so.

Not only motorcycles that are driven against the direction, but there are also those, which parked and driven on the sidewalk.

These wrongdoings violate the Land Traffic Act. B.E. 2552, Section 33. In driving a conveyance, the driver must drive on the left side of the road, and must not drive beyond the median line of the road, except in the following cases he or she may drive on the right side of the road or may drive beyond the median line of the road.

And section 43. No driver shall drive: (7) on the pavement without reasonable justification, except a baby carriage or wheelchair for the patient or disabled; (8) without being aware of safety or trouble of others.

I reported the wrongdoings to many authorities, including 1555 via their online platform.

The first time I got the call from 1555 call center, I was really nervous. I am afraid that I will say something wrong or do something that will annoy the operator. But it turned out that the operator was really friendly and helpful.

“We have sent the police to check at the spot you reported,” the female operator spoke in a soft tone of voice. After she reports me the progress she gently asked, “are there any other problems you have been facing? You can report directly to me.” I was really appreciated with the operator of 1555.

However, I have experienced the services that I am not satisfied with. The first case, the motorcycles are driven against the direction, I did also report directly to the police office phone number (02-524-0610).

“Hello, I want to report wrongdoings about motorcycles driven against the direction on Phaholyothin road near Bangkok University,” I said. Unexpectedly, the police replied, “Roger that,” then he hanged up the line. Nothing has changed.

Maybe there are too many people report about this issue, or maybe the police just ignore their duty.

Apart from the bad service of the police, I did also report through many online platforms like SPOND application and http://petition.swu.ac.th, but I got no respond or any update.

I spend almost 3 months reporting and following up this case, not only those driven against the lane around Bangkok University but also at Pradipat street, Phayathai. Nevertheless, there are still a bunch of motorcycles driven against the lane everywhere.

The only change I can see is at Pradipat street, where there are fewer motorcycles driven against the lane.

Another case I did is quite challenging, it is reporting on tobacco and alcohol. I did some research about the tobacco wrongdoings, which is E-cigarette, and found that most of the shop owners are people, who look like the mafia and tend to have well connected with the empower people.

What if they know that I am going to report them to the police, who will guarantee my safety?

Remember that being a journalist, there is always some risks journalist must take. The most important thing is that the journalist has to find a way to avoid the risks while being able to get the data collection.

I have discussed with my another friend, Ayu, that it is too dangerous to go to the shop, secretly take the photo, and try to report them. Instead, we change our focus to alcohol because it is easier and safer.

We first wanted to find the shop, where they sell alcohol to teenagers, who are under 20 years old. Unluckily, we found no shop opened and there was no student at all on that day. We ended up at Huamum market, which is the last place we decided to go. Fortunately, there are a lot of bars that put the alcohol sign and alcohol sale promotion in front of the bar.

We suddenly looked for the wrongdoings about alcohol advertising and promotion on the internet and found the article about suppressing the shops that provide alcohol sale promotion.

The article จับจริงร้านเหล้าท้าทายกฎหมาย จัดโปรโมชั่นลดแลกแจกแถมรับปีใหม่ ! from PPTV HD 36 stated that Dr. Samarn Futrakul, the director of the Office of Alcohol Control Committee, and team have found five alcohol bars at Central Festival Eastville commit the wrongdoings on providing beer, and other alcohol promotions, which violate Alcohol Control Act B.E. 2551 (2008), section 30. No person shall sell alcoholic beverage by procedures or characteristics as follows: (3) to discount for sale promotion purpose.

[alcohol sale promotion signs in front of the bars at Huamum market]

Our last solution was to pretend to be the customers, who are finding the best bar to sit in. Finally, we got the evidence!

Several days after, we went to the Chokchai police station and reported this wrongdoing. When the police heard about our story, he laughed out loud. “Did you have any trouble or difficulty from those actions?” he asked. We shook our head as an answer. “But it against the law,” I looked at him.

The police then unwillingly listened to our complaint and record the report. He asked so many questions and let us find some supporting information to prove that the alcohol sale promotion is really illegal.

That night, I got the call from another police, whom I believe is a chief police. He told me that I should not report this wrongdoing because the bar’ owners will get into trouble.

It is quite embarrassing and ridiculous to have the police call back and complain that people should not report wrongdoings of others because it will cause them a trouble. Now, seeing that doing the right thing, may cause you a bad person in others’ eyes.

Nonetheless, a month after I have reported about this case, I went back to the market and found no sign or promotion advertising in front of any bar. I was really surprised.

It was my first step to do something I call it ‘crazy,’ going to report the case to the police in person, taking action that I do really serious about this case, and it is resulting in success.

I also wrote the FOI letter to the police office, where I went to complain about alcohol case. Asking them for the working process on suppressing the shops and bars that providing the sale promotion advertise of alcohol, which supports people to drink the alcohol. In addition, I also asked for the number of complaint on alcohol selling and the number of shops and bars. Nevertheless, I have not yet got any reply letter.

Another case I did is the street vendors at Ari, Phayathai. Many people might be familiar with the street vendors since people buy and consume the products from the vendor almost every day. It is convenient and cheap.

The sidewalk is paved for people to pass back and forth, on the other hand, it is full of street vendors.

There are so many vendors around Ari place, most of them are settled on the footpath with the support of the Government Savings Bank, seeing that the bank provides a beach umbrella for each vendor, and some are not.

[street vendors at Ari Soi 1]

I was really confused whether the vendors are legal or they are violating the Act on the Maintenance of the Cleanliness and Orderliness of the Country, B.E. 2535 (1992). However, the vendors block the path and cause the smell pollution; thus, I counted it the wrongdoings.

For this case I did report to the same authority, http://petition.swu.ac.th, again I did not receive any update.

I then reported to Assawin Report via LINE, which is the official Line account of the Bangkok’s governor. I have waited, waited, and waited until I report the case to 1111online.

The same night, I got the call from 1111. “Miss, how may I help you?” the operator said. I explained what I have been facing about street vendors around Ari, and told him that I have reported it to several authorities but I see no change. He promised me that he will contact the authority who responds on the area directly.

To promise is to keep one’s word and not to break it. However, I cannot see any change or any action the governors do in order to clear up the vendors at Ari.

I have no clue what to do and how to deal with the governors. They maybe are too busy to work on these small problems.

I do not know exactly how many people are facing these kinds of problem, but I believe most of them just ignore it and get used to it. Some may complaint but there is no change. Some may succeed in complaining about some cases.

The issue might be solved, if more people complain and take action on reporting and following up the case. The sound may be louder from a larger number of people.

Not only complaining about the wrongdoings, but the inert service of governors should be blamed too.

All these months, I have stepped out from my comfort zone and done something I have never thought I would do before. I found that I have completed my role of Thai people, who are seeking for the better way of life in Thailand, who have done something that the majority might see it strange and without kindness to other fellows.

Nevertheless, there is nothing to fear because there is nothing wrong to ask for the better change, and for the things that it should be in its way.

Our sound is matter. One may too small, but one from everyone can make a giant change.

We deserve a better life and it is the duty of the governors to serve happiness to their people.

bottom of page