top of page

ME AND MY FATHER

*special blog for this memorable week*

How many father do you have? You may have one father, the man who gives birth to you, drives you to school, takes you to the playground, and sends you to your goal. But I am not like some of you, I have two father, the first father is the ordinary father like yours, and another one is the father from the heaven.

King Bhumibol or King Rama IX of Chakri dynasty is the father of all Thai.

He is not only the King of Thailand, but also the father who takes care of his people, the teacher who teaches and enlightens his citizens, the inventor who invents so many inventions to prevent, protect, and help his citizens from the difficulties. He is the musician who plays the beautiful music to his people, the artist who paints for Thais. He is everything for Thailand, and he can be everything such like an angel.

My story about me and The King is about all related to His’ Majesty of my memories that I have. I remember that when I was very young, about 7 years old, I joint the painting competition on Thai Father Day, the day we celebrate The King’s birthday, at my school, I drew a man wearing glasses and sitting on the floor talking to an old lady. It was King Bhumibol. At that time, I was so young to realise His goodness, I only knew that he is The King of Thailand and he is an important person. Even if my mom always mention how good he is, what he has done, what his teachings are about, I did not understand.

When I was 11 years old, I joint the singing event for the 60th Anniversary Celebrations of King Bhumibol in my school. This time, I think I am older and I might do something my mom would be happy and this was a chance to show how much I love The King. Still, I was just a child, who agree with everything my mom said yes to, I look back and found that I might not really think that way, it could be just because my mom said so. I did not believe in His goodness, even if I agree that he is a good person.

As time goes by, I have been seeing his works and his dedications that he has for Thai people, I have heard about thousands of his Royal Project, and I can see that they are real, the projects are beneficial for everybody. I have visited the "Chang-Hua-Mun" Royal Initiative Project in Phetchaburi province with my family once and with my school field trip once, I learned how The King helps his people from the crisis, how he thinks about this campaign and saw how he did does this project. I came back and started to read about His background and I found so many wonderful stories that inspired me. My life is easier after I followed His teachings, moderate practice and carefulness are the best teachings of Him in my opinion because they are what we can practice in everyday life and they cost no money. Another teaching that I always practice is “Everybody needs to lower his ego.” My mom always tells me that being a small person is much better than making yourself looks bigger than who you are. Just like The King, he was always humble but majestic.

I have been deeply impressed with his kindness and compassion for so long, and the most pride of mine is that I have won in Huachiew Chinese Speech Competition in 2013 on the topic of “The person, whom I love the most.” When I randomly picked up the topic, the first person I think of was him. I quickly rearranged all information I have about him in my head and sincerely did the speech with full of passion. While I was talking about him, my eyes covered with tears with thankfulness and gratefulness for His’ Majesty.

On 13 October last year was the day of sadness, the day of the great sorrow of all Thais. I was really sad back then, but I did not adhere to the sadness too long, I tried to move on and live my life. It is not a wrong thing to be sad after the death of His’ Majesty, but I think he might not want his people to be sad, what we can do for him is to be a good citizen, a person who has a meaningful life, and that what I have tried to do so.

bottom of page