top of page

Never say no to ‘Jiufen’

If you are looking for somewhere classic and romantic, Jiufen is your destination.

It is a small town and was discovered during the Japanese occupation in the 1890s. Back then the discovery of goal in this small town was very famous, thus the Japanese moved there and built many constructions including the goal mine. Jiufen is also the inspiration for the animation film, spirited away.

I chose the easiest way to go to Jiufen from Taipei by hired the Taxi. It took less than 2 hours to got there so I got to Jiufen around 1 p.m., however, the taxi driver did not drop me at the front of my hotel. On that day it was raining heavily all the way, I had no choice but walk across the old street while dragged my luggage a long, I followed Google Map to the hotel, but I could not notice the route, it was a hard time for me. Luckily, I called the hotel that I could not fine the way and the hotel owner told me to wait for him, 10 minutes later, the slim and tall guy came to me and told me that he is the staff from Gen Product B&B which is the hotel I booked. The guy helped me drag my luggage and leaded me to the hotel. When I arrived the hotel it was totally opposite from my imagination, the hotel is kind of small, there are only two floors and consist of only three bedrooms. Nevertheless, it is the warm place, the owner is a man around 50 years old who live with his son, the guy who took me there. The owner let me put my luggage first, then he called me to the downstair, he asked me whether I have a plan for that day or not and I obviously had no plan, so he suggested me to visit Jiufen Gold Mine where I did not plan to go before since I think that there is nothing there.

I got off from the local bus at Jiufen Goal Mine Museum Station and walk along the rout to the ticket office. After I bough the ticket I follow a group of people into the museum, the place was very calm and I felt like I was walking on the street in the 1890s in Japan. Every construction is similar to the construction in the vintage film, the tall trees straightly stand next to each other, the wind blew gently, and the smell of the soil is very fragrant. This place changes my imagination about the word ‘Museum’, it more likes I was in the suburb in Japan and walking in the woods, I enjoyed wandering around this place so much.

After I came back from the Goal Mine Museum around 6 p.m., I went to the old street market to find my dinner. The old street is sort of narrow but long, there are so many shops a side and during day time there are so many Chinese and Korean visitors went there. The red lanterns were hung a long the street and in front of almost every shop, when the sun light gone the light from lanterns were switched on, now it is very romantic and beautiful. I have tried many delicious foods there except Taiwan taro balls with syrup since the hotel owner told me not to have it because he has prepared the special taro balls for me when I got back.

The next morning, after I finished my breakfast I rush to the old street again to the teahouse where every tourist should not miss. I walked into the shop and follow the staff to the 3rd floor, the waitress suggested me to sat outside since I can see the view clearer than the inside. I ordered a set of Oolong tea and traditional sweets, then I sat back and relaxed. The fog ran past my body the Chinese song was turning on, I closed my eyes and hope to be in this position as long as I can.

A side of the good people and tasty foods, I do love the sense of Japanese old village in Jiufen so much, I wish I could be there more than two days and I surely go back to Jiufen soon. This last part of my traveling to Taiwan is ended with my happiness of thinking about Jiufen. If you have any question or do you want to know more about my trip you can ask me ;) Next time I will come back with the video that is very useful for people who want to travel to the countries where people do speak only Chinese language! STAY TUNED

bottom of page